Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m taking a quick time out from reviews to celebrate something very close to my heart, the music of Sonic games. I was a massive Sonic fan back in the Mega Drive days and would spend endless hours reliving the console’s four classic titles starring the blue blur and the soundtrack of each game was one of the best things about them. The music of the early Sonic games was filled with such energy powered by an astonishingly consistent array of catchy melodies that completely transcended the platform’s rather low quality sound. Every single tune from Sonic the Hedgehog, Sonic the Hedgehog 2, Sonic 3, Sonic & Knuckles and even Sonic 3D Flickies’ Island was memorable and remains to this day great to listen to. Narrowing them down to the ten best was almost impossible, I could have happily made a top 50. I’m sticking to music from Sonic’s early years, partly because that is the era I know best but mainly because that’s where all the best music is found. I’m not going to explain any of my choices, I’d rather let the music do the talking. So here are my Top Ten Sonic Themes.

10. Ice Cap Zone Act 1 – Sonic 3

9. The Doomsday Zone – Sonic & Knuckles

8. Final Boss – Sonic the Hedgehog 2

7. Emerald Hill Zone – Sonic the Hedgehog 2

6. Hydrocity Zone Act 2 – Sonic 3

5. Volcano Valley Zone Act 1 – Sonic 3D Flickies’ Island

4. Green Hill Zone – Sonic the Hedgehog

3. Chemical Plant Zone – Sonic the Hedgehog 2

2. Final Boss – Sonic 3

1. Flying Battery Zone Act 2 – Sonic & Knuckles

