Tags

Hello and a warm welcome to roseredprince’s blog.

I’m an adventure writer currently working on two projects (a Victorian era yarn and a fantasy saga), a serious gamer and Nintendo connoisseur and a lover of movies and adventure books. This blog will mostly be concerned with reviews for games, movies and books but I might report on a few adventures from my own life along the way.

So, reviews, here’s how they’ll work.

I’m always playing some game or other, be it brand new or some classic I’m replaying so we will see two types of game review, for new titles and old. I’m very much a Nintendo fan. It’s not that I don’t want the other consoles (I can’t stand haters), I just can’t afford them. I rate games out of 10 but include a decimal point and I also give a score out of 10 for how well the game does in six areas, presentation, gameplay, graphics, sound, difficulty and longevity. It’s quite likely that most of the games I review will score 8.0 or higher. There’s a simple reason for this, I don’t play bad games. For me there are three types of game, those that don’t appeal to me at all and won’t get regardless of reviews, those that appeal to me enough that I’ll definitely get regardless of reviews and those that appeal to me somewhat and will get, rent, or avoid depending on reviews.

I probably take movie and book reviews less seriously and give them a much simpler rating out of a possible 5 stars. I’m usually reading some kind of novel, mostly adventure fiction aimed at children, the very thing I love to write. With movies I’ll review any film I see in the cinema and if I watch one on DVD or TV and feel like reviewing it I will. So there.

That’s all for now, I’ll be posting my first review soon.

